Cummins

Rate this topic

When my dealer finally changes hands it will be a serious Ford truck dealership and we are going to be selling and servicing medium duty trucks again. Supposedly with a large customer base. Any of you guys do a lot of Cummins work and have some advice for what might be ahead for us?

Well Kieth I have changed jobs and I'm an engine tech at the cummins dealer here. Spend the time getting familiar with quickserve, it is pretty good but takes a bit of time to learn where things are in there. Troubleshooting is very structured, FOLLOW the steps in order if you want to get paid warranty. the information with a fault code is great, the theory, a schematic of the circuit involved, shop talk is a common thing if there is for the code to look at, all on the page for that code with t/s steps to follow. all in all the the mid-range engines do pretty well. You guys will probably have to do some cummins training to get certified for warranty work, but not a big deal. post if you have questions and I will help if i can. The 6.7 md engines have a rear gear train, common rail, with vgt and egr, they also use scr on the 10' engines. All systems you have already seen, so nothing crazy new for you.

Good to hear. As far as I know the Cummins is the only diesel engine option for the F-650/750 trucks now. No more Navistar, no more CAT... I went through the CAT ACERT training but it was worthless for me because we really were not performing any warranty engine repairs at all. They just wanted to be able to sell them. The new people expect to sell and service which is fine with me. They are hot to get us going with training so I expect some extended classroom time is coming my way and probably for my partner too.