Early 99 7.3 problems

Rate this topic

I am a ford asset technician one year in, been learning alot and have my own 7.3 I picked up as a project. It needed injectors so I just got the injectors installed. The truck now cold starts fine and runs "better" but has a miss and makes a "hissing" sound we cannot locate sounds like from motor...injectors are brand new so is IDM batteries and starter...the turbo is shot im rebuilding another one as we speak but I cannot figure out the HISS it also is sending white smoke which is obviously raw fuel by the smell and look of it out exhaust I know HPOP probably still has some air in it but the HISS and the miss do not make since to me it didnt even miss when it needed injectors. I dont have IDS so I havent been able to run any tests or even properly pull codes. Looking for any ideas.

When the EBPR (the warmup flapper on the turbo) engages on a cold start it will remain engaged until 140ish EOT causing a noticable hissing noise which is normal. Is this your hiss?

Posted Image

Are you serious? I know a lot of them in Cleveland that are unhooked, and I've asked several guys if they noticed the difference in heat or warmup time. All said no. I think the EBPR is for 60 passenger school busses (T444E) that really need a lot of BTUs to get it warm inside.

Keef: Usually they're tied open with coathanger.

Posted Image

Its not the EBPV its engine related and is engine speed...it sounds like air passing so i took valve covers off and ran it that way and still couldnt pin point it...not real sure whats going on and ebpv wouldnt cost the rough idle and smoke

Use a length of hose like a crude stethoscope to help localise the noise. Certainly the ebv wont cause a rough idle, but there IS the possibility of having more than one concern... especially on a truck that's nearly 13 years old.