Awesomeness!

Rate this topic

Brad Clayton

This is a topic over on the "boards"

Do You Look Up Your Labor Ops from SLTS?

The gentleman that started the thread opens with this statement:

I was told that I am not to look up my warranty labor ops and specifically, I am NOT to write them on the back of the repair order because FoMoCo doesn't like that by my warranty clerk.

I have been doing it this way for 30 years,(I am at a new dealership now), I am just wondering, does anyone else do this(write your labor ops on the RO ) Thanks.. 

There are numerous posts about how dealers do things and comments on what is allowed but this reply is......oh.. shall we say the bee's knees!

The new C-max has no op code for oil leak dye test. If techs are ignorant of the op codes, they will not punch off when the dye test is done. You cannot "flag" your own repair orders. That's all. It's in the manual. There is absolutely no published statement about technicians being prohibited from gaining knowledge. There is also no published prohibition about you suggesting appropriate op codes. You cannot "flag," therefore you are not guaranteed that your suggestions will be implemented, but you can make any reccomendation you like. If you're on an ERO system, you are not prohibited from typing your suggestions anywhere you wish, but, since you cannot "flag," someone else must make the final coding decision.