What were they thinking???

Rate this topic

Jim Warman

Following some of the threads in the 6.4 forum, I see most feel the same as I do.... what on earth will we see next?

I have no idea of the age or experiences of most reading this, but I am constantly reminded of my own path to that place I bow exist.....

When I first started my apprenticeship, the alternator and front wheel discs were the big, new breakthroughs in technology.... The idea of buying a rebuilt generator or rebuilt starter or what-have-you was alien.... if you needed an armature or field coils or bushings... you went to the parts counter and got them. Every shop had a growler and everyone knew how to use it. But those dang alternators... what were they thinking? And we learned and went on....

Soon, we saw electronic ignitions.... we used to fix a lot of running problems with new points and condenser.... these dang ignitions... what were they thinking? And we learned and went on....

Then came those early and crude EGR systems.... we fought back, for the most part. We didn't need to understand them if we simply disabled them... What were they thinking? And a lot of us took a big step backwards....

Feedback carbs..... electronic fuel injection.... the changes in technology are in high gear.... coming fast and coming often... What were they thinking? And a lot of us got lost in the dust....

Change... complexity... new technology... none of these are new - and we all know it.

Customer demand for toys (theater dimming lights, heated seats, nav systems, DVDs).... our need for improved fuel mileage and reduced emissions.... our need to reduce our reliance on other non-renewable resources.... All of these (and more) are driving this snowballing rush to technical overload....