2006 lcf code 333

Rate this topic

I have and lcf that I have inherited from our sister store. I have been working on powerstrokes for many years but this is my first lcf. Complaint is check engine light coming on. It has a 333 code. It only sets under wot and runs perfect all the time. You can watch icp and icp desired and there is a good 900 psi difference between the two. The other store replaced the hpop, ipr valve, all stand pipes and orings. I have dissasembled all of their work and reinspected everything. I also air tested the system with the pump off and could not find any leaks. It only sets the code when hot. The oil and filter are new and is the correct type. Have been in contact with hotline and was told that it was going to need injectors. I have never experienced this on a 6.0. Does any one have any other information on this concern or know of something that I may be missing. Any help would be appreciated.

I'd verify low pressure oil system performance before getting to deep in this one. They don't have an oil pressure gauge in the dash and my CF600 MD recordings show the EOP steady at 25psi regardless of engine rpm, which makes me sure it's a bogus number. This will probably require yanking the EOP sensor and installing a manual gauge for a road test. If the LP system checks out, I'd deadhead the HP system by grounding the IPR return momentarily to see how much ICP it will build. IH tech support says 4100psi is a minimum and I'll agree with that. My guess is either the HPOP is starving due to LPOP performance, or the HPOP is bad. A 333 at WOT with no other complaints has commonly been a bad HPOP in my experience. (I know yours is new) It's common to see this exact complaint on a DT with a bad HPOP.

I don't understand Hotline recommending injectors.

Good Luck!

/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif