blown ecm/bat fuse

Rate this topic

Hi everyone! I am a UPS mechanic, and a prior ford tech. I have a vt275 that just came back from the dealer for an egr cooler. I put the truck on the road, and it broke down at the end of the day. I found the 10a ecm/bat fuse blown, with no crank. I replaced the fuse, and it did not blow. I changed the ecm relay to be safe, and inspected the engine harness, and ecm connectors, and did not find any chaffing, or pinched wires. I put the truck back in service, and at about the same time of day, "the next day" it broke down again! Same condition! right now I can not get the fuse to blow, so I was wondering if anyone has had the same issue? possible ecm? Thank you for any help!

I wanted to say I had one but as I thought about it I recalled the issue was with the relay itself. If we take a look at the schematic in the back of the Coffee Table Book the 10A fuse powers both sides of the ECM relay, PCM, IDM and the EGR controller. If an inspection of the harness and circuit pinpoint tests don't reveal anything those are the items to focus on. I don't know what chassis UPS uses for this engine so I don't know what schematic you have available to you... hence the use of the Coffee Table Book.

Perhaps someone else has seen this...

Welcome to the forum.