First time a 6.0 has got me pinned to the wall.

Rate this topic

Help guys, I've been working on diesels for Ford since 2000 and this one has me giving up. Its a 2006 F-250. It dies when hot. Its an ICP issue. Once EOT gets to 190 IPR climbs to 87% while ICP goes down to 390 and dies. Obviosly I high pressure leak right? Before I continue, customer has put a oil cooler, high pressure pump, injectors, and all standpipes on his own at home. I started fresh and installed a new IPR valve, High Pressure pump and installing a new oil cooler kit to recheck customers repairs and I also checked and replaced all suspect standpipes. Vehicle still dies when hot on its own! I dont have to shut it off!!! I rapidly air leaked it and found a passenger side oil manifold leaking at a none serviceable fitting(I have never seen that before) replaced manifold=same problem. I heard injector 1 leakind at air leak test=same problem. I replaced the branch tube assembly=same problem. Today I had the valve covers removed and air leaked it again=replaced drivers side oil rail manifold and injector no. 3=same problem. IPR still rises while sitting at idle to 87% and ICP starts going down. Anyone seen this before? Could a PCM be suspect? Thanks for any help.

Well, it looks like most things are new on this system. Did you inspect the injector inlet o-rings? The fact that ICP goes down and the truck DOES stall with the IPR % up tells me you are chasing a leak but at this point I would also verify base oil pressure hot. If you are losing oil pressure there the HPOP system could be getting starved.