Mustang engine replacement...

Rate this topic

DamageINC

So I've never done this before in this fashion, but I decided to try something a little different.

I've got a '99 GT in the shop, came in locked up / no oil, needs an engine. Just because it's kinda slow here and I'm not trying to break and speed records or anything, I figured I'd go a different route than the "out the hood" method with this one, don't care if it kicks my ass or not....

And holy shit, is it easy this way.

Left the engine bolted to the K-member, trans still attached, and just dropped the whole K-member (wheels still on, suspension intact with struts unbolted from towers, calipers hanging from body) out of the car instead. I was *taking my time* with this because I didn't wanna destroy anything in the process, and when it was all said and done, I have the engine sitting in the K-member, but completely out of the vehicle in less than 1.5 hours.

Get this down to a procedure, something you can do without "thinking" about it, and you can honestly have this thing out in under an hour, I'd bet.

Honestly, if I remember correctly, there are a couple power steering/booster hoses to disconnect, 2 a/c lines to disconnect, remove the battery & tray, 3 or 4 electrical connectors and a ground on the LF fender, 3 connectors at the right side firewall, unbolt steering shaft, pull clutch cable out, unbolt exhaust from the mufflers, pull the front sway bar, upper/lower radiator hose, and pull the drive shaft.

Unbolt the calipers, unplug the ABS sensors, lower the car down so the weight's on the front tires, unbolt the struts from up top, and the 8 K-member bolts, and then up comes the car and the engine's right there. *VERY* fast.

Dave

I have done super charged T-Birds in the past this way. Works very well. Just make sure you have the larger sized inverted torx bits (E18/E20?) for the K-frame bolts.