my truck went on limp mopde

Rate this topic

hey guy im a diesel tech i did what i said ill never do i bought a 6.4. i got a smokeing deal on it had two melted pistons i rebulit the short block and replace one head and rocker arms and injectors i have about 6k on it now and it has never realy felt right i can tell when its in regn i can fell like a sight missand in the last week it set off the check engine light for the dpf being pluged i ceel the light and comes back on with in a few days but today it went in limp mode good thing i always have my ids with me got the code for engine oil over fill i ceel the light and drove home i was checking power balince and my #7 cly is +20 and number 2cly is -20 and fuel trim is +18 and -15 at idel what you guys think i should check?

A heavy truck DPF is a cartridge, looks like a giant air filter. They fit in a DPF cleaner with adapters and are cleaned with compressed air, with the ash vacuumed away. Since the light truck DPF is in a welded unit, I haven't been able to find any places that will clean them. The cleaning process an a filter that is not contaminated with oil, coolant, or fuel is just a flow test, then blow out the ash with compressed air from the outlet side, then another flow test to verify the result. They also watch for damaged filter cells while cleaning. If the filter is contaminated they bake it first, then clean it. I have been tempted to do a backyard cleaning on a 6.4 filter (leaf blower, or equivalent) that isn't contaminated, but haven't had the opportunity yet.