Stories To Make You Shake Your Head

Rate this topic

mchan68

Before I begin this post, let me first clarify that I don't consider myself to be the "perfect" tech, or the smartest tech for that matter. But, at this point in my automotive career as a tech, I have made my share of mistakes, and have no problem owning up to them when needed. In a time when the "big three" are in financial dire straits, customer satisfaction is of utmost paramount importance in both sales, and after sales departments. That being said, those of us who DO still care and strive our best to do our part to ensure and maintain customer satisfaction to the best of our abilities, nothing is more frustrating when our co-workers makes US look bad.

It's Wednesday evening, a customer rolls in with his 2003 Mustang, alledging that he paid for an oil change that was never done. He produces his copy of the invoice, which clearly indicates the employee number of the servicing tech, the parts charged out on the RO and the amount of labour charged. Apparently, he "marked" the old oil filter himself with a dot between two certain letters on the old filter. So, in rolls the car into a bay to be put into the air as instructed to one of our apprentices. In comes the owner to indicate where he marked it, prior to bringing it in. The question I have in my mind is, WHY in the hell is this tech still employed at our dealership? Why did the owner of this vehicle "mark" the filter? He must already distrust our establishment in the first place, for him to go to the trouble of marking the filter. Well, the shop foreman did the oil change in the end, after which both him and the advisor apologized PROFUSELY for the fuck up. Whether or not, he will ever return again for service, who knows.