2010 dodge 6.7 cummins oil leak

Rate this topic

tonybullitt

I have above truck pouring oil out back of engine. I have not pulled trans yet but appears to be rear main area. Any suggestions on other leak location that could push alot of oil out in this area? Also I am a ford diesel tech at a dealership am I going to need any tools to do rear main on this engine? Thanks Tony

Mitchell shows a tool but no number. Google searches seem to point to the tool coming with the seal. There is a write up in a Cummins diesel forum with pics.

http://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/07-5-09-3rd-gen-6-7l-powertrain/90650-rear-main-seal.html

This should help you. I attached the procedure from the Cummins workshop manual for a 2010 ISB 6.7L engine which as far as I am aware is "identical" to the Dodge engine for all intent and purposes.

FYI: I highly recommend the use of UV tracer dye when diagnosing oil leaks. Add 3 ounces of dye to the engine oil and run it long enough to mix with the oil thoroughly and penetrate the leak. There is a plate on the back of the engine and there may be an oil galley plug that you will want to inspect.

Is this a rear gear train engine? I have seen quite a few in ups trucks and school buses that leak where the flywheel housing meets the gear housing just below the high pressure fuel pump. This leak is due to terrible machining of the housings. If it is indeed just a rear seal there is a white plastic ring that comes with the seal. One side is for rear gear train engines while the other is for non-rear geartrain engines. Make sure you use the correct spacer becuase it sets the depth differently. If you have an engine serial number we could get more specific repair procedures.