1993 7.3 idi

Rate this topic

Hi I have a way before my time ambulance here. The concern is at times will start fine then stall. Very hard restart after stall. If it doesnt stall it runs great and after it starts runs great. Any suggestions I have very little inj pump experience. Thanks Tony

Sounds like air intrusion to me, check the return line caps for leakage, probably needs new caps, o-rings and lines.

Very common concern with these. There are many leak prone areas that allow air to enter the fuel supply system and the fuel injector return lines during shut down. When this happens the supply system and filter can drain so that when the engine is started it immediately ingests air in the injection pump and it loses prime - the engine stalls and is very hard to restart usually requiring purging to do so once this condition progresses.

Inspect all of the fuel lines from the tank to the fuel pup on the right side of the engine block and then the lines up to the fuel filter housing. THen the rubber lines from the filter housing, pump and injector return lines and the collars at every injector. You m ight just be better off replacing parts on a truck this old. Parts meaning hoses, clamps and collars with new O-rings. Also the fuel pump can leak.

I have attached (TSB 97-2-15) the diagnostic guides for the older engines in case you need them

tsb97-02-15.pdf

IRC if you think it is the fuel pump bleeding back pinch off the return @ the pump the see if it starts fine. You can also buy the fuel return hose @ the injectors in bulk, I still have some in my toolbox that I will probably never use :)

speaking of IDI diesel here.I have similar issue here.The lever on injector pump stuck between 1/2 throttle and wide open throttle...Does this means pump is defective? ...it is reman pump, comes with reman engine that we install three weeks ago.